The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is continuing to engage with stakeholders in its preparation to host the 41st SADC Summit in Lilongwe in August, 2021. On Tuesday, 11th May, 2021, the Ministry courted the SADC National Committee (SNC), Malawi chapter which was revamped and launched on 1st April, 2021, in order to oversee the implementation of the SADC activities at the national level.

The meeting received a report from the SNC National Steering Committee in terms of status of the country’s preparedness to Host the SADC Summit and considered Proposed SADC Summit theme, which Malawi as a country is obligated to conceptualise and submit to the SADC Secretariat by 31st May, 2021.

In his opening remarks, Honourable Eisenhower Nduwa Mkaka, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Chairperson of the SADC SNC National Committee informed the meeting that His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, President of the Republic of Malawi has already approved the dates for the SADC Summit for 17th and 18th August, 2021. He added that the Summit will be preceded by the Meetings of the Standing Committee of Senior officials, Council of Ministers and Organ Troika Summit from 9th August, 2021.

Furthermore, Honourable Mkaka, emphasized the importance of the SNC to administer the implementation of SADC activities in Malawi and ensure the successful hosting of the SADC Summit in August, 2021.

After thorough and intensive review of the proposed SADC Summit Themes, the meeting made some amendments and propositions and tasked the SNC Steering Committee to implement and report to the SNC National Committee on Monday, 17th May, 2021. The agreed theme will then be presented to His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, President of the Republic of Malawi for adoption.

The meeting was chaired by Honourable Eisenhower Nduwa Mkaka, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs and was attended by Honourable Felix Mlusu, Minister of Finance; Honourable Titus Mvalo, Minister of Justice; Honourable Sosten Gwengwe, Minister of Trade; Honourable Gospel Kazako, Minister of Information; Honourable Jean Sendeza, M.P., Deputy Minister of Defense; Honourable Nancy Mdooko, M.P., Deputy Minister of Transport and Public Works, Professor Richard Mkandawire, Chairperson of the National Planning Commission (MCCCI) and; Mr James Chimwaza, President of Malawi Confederation of Chamber of Commerce and Industry (MCCCI), amongst other senior Government Officials.