A+ R A-

Country Brief


Malawi is located in south-eastern Africa bordered by Tanzania to the north, Zambia to the west, and Mozambique to the east and south. Lake Malawi, the third largest lake in Africa and one of the deepest in the world, accounts for almost one-fifth of the country's area. Malawi’s terrain is beautiful and breath-taking comprising of plateaus, plains, hills, valleys and mountains. The three major population centres are Mzuzu in the north; Lilongwe, the capital city, in the centre; and Blantyre in the south. Blantyre is also the commercial capital of the country.


History and Government

In 1891, Nyasaland now Malawi, became a British protectorate. In 1953, Nyasaland joined with Northern and Southern Rhodesia (Zambia and Zimbabwe), to form the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland until 6th July, 1964 when the country attained her independence. Malawi’s first independent President was Dr. Hastings Kamuzu Banda. After three decades of one-party rule under the Malawi Congress Party (MCP), Malawians decided to change their system of government, from one party dictatorship to multiparty politics in a referendum which was held in June, 1993. In May, 1994, Malawi held its multiparty election with President Dr. Bakili Muluzi of the United Democratic Front (UDF), winning the elections with a majority. Subsequent elections were held in 1999, 2004 and 2009.

During the elections in 2004, Malawians elected Dr. Bingu wa Mutharika, a seasoned economist, president. Under President Dr. Bingu wa Mutharika, Malawi has achieved unprecedented economic growth. The current development plans of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) government as stipulated in the Malawi Growth and Development Strategy (MGDS) continue to transform Malawi’s economy, from a predominantly importing and consuming country, to a predominantly producing and exporting country.

One of the most important aspects for Malawi’s economic achievements has been the excellent leadership provided by His Excellency President Dr. Bingu wa Mutharika. On this basis, Malawians re-elected Dr. Bingu wa Mutharika for a second term of office in the 2009 Presidential and Parliamentary elections.


Following the death of His Excellency Ngwazi Bingu wa Mutharika on .......2012,  Her Excellencey Mrs Joyce Banda became the first Female President of the Republic of Malawi

Quick Facts About Malawi


Land Area: 118,484 Km2
Population: 15 million
Capital City: Lilongwe
Other Cities: Blantyre, Zomba, Mzuzu
Climate: Tropical (cooler in highlands)
Official language: English
Common Language: Chichewa
Currency: Kwacha
Time: GMT +2

Location and Contacts

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
P.O. Box 30315
                Capital City,  Lilongwe 3


Tel: +265 1 789 088/789 115
Fax: +265 1 788 482/789 112

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

FacebookMySpaceTwitterGoogle BookmarksLinkedin